β€Ί
Please familiarise yourself with the forum, including policy on feature requests, rules & guidelines

Midi track -> External Synth -> Record as sample -> Create synth with sample

Dear Forum,

I'm a newbie with the Deluge!

I have created a midi track which triggers an external synth creating a cool HH sound :smile:

Now, I'd like to record that sound into the Deluge and create a synth using that sample.

Is that possible?

So far, I have succeeded in:

Routing the output of the synth to the line in of the Deluge
Creating a new kit, and arming that kit for recording using the line in (Stereo) and pressing the record button (getting ready for recording)
Pressing play, starting the playback of the midi track on the Deluge, the synth receiving the midi and producing the sound and the Deluge recording a 1 bar audio clip.
Successfully playing back the audio clip that sounds close to what the synth is producing (some hum and whatever is added to the sound and it's also clipping at a lower volume).

However, the sound needs to be offset to the left (played x milliseconds before the beat) in order to fit to the rest of the track.
Also, I'd like to be able to trigger the sound as a one-shot sample to my liking using the pads.

Any suggestions?

All the best,
Jon

Comments

Sorry for not posting this in the question category :-/

volstehvolsteh CroatiaPosts: 418
    edited May 2021

So you are using it in KIT mode. you can edit/crop the sample in waveform view. Changing the sample mode (once, cut, loop, stretch..) will allow you to play it like a one-shot or to stretch it across beats.

If you want to play it chromatically, load the sample in an oscillator in SYNTH mode.

Post edited by volsteh on

πŸ…½πŸ…ΎπŸ†…πŸ…ΈπŸ…²πŸ…΄ πŸ…³πŸ…΄πŸ…»πŸ†„πŸ…ΆπŸ…ΈπŸ…ΎπŸ…½πŸ…ΈπŸ†‚πŸ†ƒ?

IcoustikIcoustik NorwayModerator, Beta Tester, Mentor Posts: 1,017

@Howdy_Stranger said:
    Dear Forum,

I'm a newbie with the Deluge!