Please familiarise yourself with the forum, including policy on feature requests, rules & guidelines

Note/sample length for Multi-sampling an Instrument?

NikoBellantiNikoBellanti Madison, WI Posts: 12
edited June 2020 in Deluge Help

Id like to create a sampled instrument from another synth and Im trying to figure out how long I need to sustain the note when sampling each individual pitch for adequate sustain times.

Post edited by NikoBellanti on

Best Answers

amiga909amiga909 Central EuropePosts: 1,078
    Answer ✓

Nice topic, I am quite new to multisampling and I am looking for best practices too.
    As Icoustik says it comes down to the instrument and what it should do. I did not get far yet with using loop points, it seems to make sense only for sounds that have a repetitive sustain and release phase, for example a basic saw sound with no release time.
    Some more points:

• Consider it should load fast on the Deluge. It is not like a highend PC with a Kontakt VSTi that can handle GBs of samples. For example huge orchestra sample libraries like Garritan do not work well for me on the Deluge, too slow to load and hogging RAM/CPU quickly, giving me sample dropouts. I went with limiting instrument size in MB to around 25MB. Of course for natural sounds like a real piano this does not work.
    • Sample length in s: Length depends on note range (which notes are not sampled, like 0-12, 96-128) and how many samples per octave. I have read around 3, 4 or 6 samples per octave are a good rule.
    • Loudness: I found it is better to have them rather loud, it is easier to make a sound quieter than making a quiet sound loud, which can emphasize sampling noise artefacts.
    IcoustikIcoustik NorwayPosts: 1,017
    Answer ✓

@amiga909
    I highly recommend SampleRobot.
    It has great auto loop point generation too, and crossfades to reduce clicking etc.

~ Distinguished Delugate ᕕ( ◎_◎)ᕗ

Answers

IcoustikIcoustik NorwayModerator, Beta Tester, Mentor Posts: 1,017