Please familiarise yourself with the forum, including policy on feature requests, rules & guidelines

Help a complete novice - Deluge & Roland jv1010 set up

SpelunkingSpelunking LiverpoolPosts: 4

Hello I would appreciate anyone’s advice and assistance in setting up the deluge with my first piece of hardware
My aim is to play Roland jv-1010 with deluge pads - is this possible?
If not I guess I need to first buy midi controller

Roland jv-1010 is sound module multitimbral 16 separate tracks so I wondered if I can play via deluge - midi Channels 1-16 - 16 separate sounds
How would I set this up via midi
I know little about midi - I have midi cable but don’t know which device should be midi in and also midi out and what I need to do to set the deluge up so they talk to each other
Ideally I wanted to play - record on deluge up to 16 separate channels of sounds from the Roland module (jv1010 has no keys)
Eg: Drums ,piano ,organ ,orchestral ,synth , sound effects etc
Any pointers, videos to watch etc or easy terminology to help I would be very grateful
I have YouTubed and seen videos with setting up in ableton etc but looking to do this via hardware

Comments

chrisrolandchrisroland United StatesPosts: 40

each MIDI track on the JV (assign the voices however you want, and however it lets you) should be assigned to a corresponding MIDI Track on Deluge, e.g., if you want a Piano on JV's MIDI Channel 1, then the Deluge MIDI Track would also be set to MIDI Ch. 1. and so forth for the other 15 channels (I don't know if the JV allows you to split or map multiple patches across the keyboard on a single MIDI channel but that might be another way to squeeze more voices as long as you don't bump up against its maximum polyphony)