β€Ί
Please familiarise yourself with the forum, including policy on feature requests, rules & guidelines

best strategies regarding using drum loops/samples (is this what multisampling is?)

bretbret United StatesBeta Tester Posts: 1

yo! new deluge user here. Prior to buying a deluge, I was mostly a guitar player and understood little about synthesis/drums etc.

I am new to grooveboxes in general and sampling is my weakest link by far. Especially when it comes to drums.

My goal is to just make a decent drum kit for my needs in the deluge.

I found a cool dude who has given away a lot of free drum loops and samples from https://www.organicdrumloops.com/ (go download some, they are great!)

His drum loops are just that...loops, but his additional sample packs with oneshots are recorded with 5 different mic's. all of the recordings have the information of where they were located within the room (including one of them as "the room mic.)

How would I go about using all of this information? Is this how making a multipack works? I guess i am just wondering how i should go about making a kit. Should I mostly just use "the room mic" for most loops/samples? or am i able to merge all of these recordings together to get a good kit?

is there a general strategy on how to work with this? are there any places I can search to gather information? any videos/etc?

thanks again...I am new to all of this, and i totally understand if i am not making much sense, ha!

Comments

volstehvolsteh CroatiaPosts: 418
    edited April 2021

You can load up to 2 samples in 1 kit sound. One in each oscillator. You can also slice a loop in the drum kit.

I would guess the room mic samples carry with them the room reverb so maybe not ideal for a start. You cold use the driest sample in osc1 then add the room or other one in osc2 with lower volume so you can fine tune it.