Please familiarise yourself with the forum, including policy on feature requests, rules & guidelines

How to play and record external synths through the deluge ?

FraMtxFraMtx FrancePosts: 3

Hi all,

(Didn’t have the Ask a question button so just created a new thread sorry)

So I recently went full hardware, for the same reasons as everyone here, and bought the Deluge along with a Microfreak and a Minilogue Xd

However I’m a total newbie and I’m really confused trying to figure out how I could connect all of this together

The guy at the music shop advised me to buy a Presonus Studio 68c Interface with 4 audio inputs and outputs to connect my synths to the deluge, which I did, but I’m not sure he quite understood what the deluge is

Can I connect my synths to the deluge using such an interface ? I feel like it’s really weird connecting a soundcard into the deluge, shouldn’t it be the other way around ?

Wouldn’t a patchbay be more appropriate to route my synths into the deluge using 6,35mm audio jacks ?

This whole thing is really confusing to me and any help would be truly appreciated

I looked everywhere on the web for answers but apparently it is so obvious for people that no one is talking about it

What audio interface/gear are you guys using to record your synths into the deluge ?

Best

Comments

Too_MereToo_Mere Chicago, IL, USABeta Tester, Mentor Posts: 993

Best things to get would be a USB hub, and a mixer or splitter cable. You can hook up your synths to deluge to send and receive MIDI with that. Just make sure to get a USB adapter like the ones sold on the Synthstrom site.

Then a small audio mixer to route audio to the deluge. Or what I use, is simply a small 1/4” stereo splitter cable. That allows you to connect two audio sources and route them to the L and R channels on the Deluge. That would work with your two synths.

Not much reason for an audio interface unless you’re planning to hook up Deluge or synths to your computer/DAW for audio recording.