Please familiarise yourself with the forum, including policy on feature requests, rules & guidelines

Sustain pedal. How to make it work?

broughtonfilmbroughtonfilm New YorkBeta Tester Posts: 70

I've searched the forum but can't find the answer: how do I make Deluge work with my MIDI keyboards' sustain pedal? I mean a very basic function of sustaining note as in a piano. The keyboard's sustain pedal works with Logic fine but no luck with Deluge. Thanks!

Comments

HeptagenHeptagen Posts: 277

Yes it does when controlling an external synth, no unfortunately it doesn't work with the internal synth engine.

IcoustikIcoustik NorwayModerator, Beta Tester, Mentor Posts: 1,017

Would have to learn midi CC to the Release parameter. Not ideal, but it works

~ Distinguished Delugate ᕕ( ◎_◎)ᕗ

edited April 2021

@Icoustik said:

Thank you. Could you explain how I would go about setting it up? Sorry, a newbie here.

Post edited by broughtonfilm on

@broughtonfilm said:

@Icoustik said:

Thank you. Could you explain how I would go about setting it up? Sorry, a newbie here.

Your sustain pedal is connected to your MIDI keyboard, right? So it should be sending a CC message by default though the keyboard, CC64 to be precise. With the keyboard connected to the Delly, what you need to do is MIDI 'learn' this to the Release parameter of the instrument you want to control.
    Enter the Env1 Release parameter so its value shows on screen, then hold the Learn button, and press the sustain pedal. It should say LEARn on screen.
    Now the pedal controls this parameter, which will work similar to a normal sustain pedal.

edited April 2021

@Icoustik said:

@broughtonfilm said:

@Icoustik said:

Your sustain pedal is connected to your MIDI keyboard, right? So it should be sending a CC message by default though the keyboard, CC64 to be precise. With the keyboard connected to the Delly, what you need to do is MIDI 'learn' this to the Release parameter of the instrument you want to control.