Please familiarise yourself with the forum, including policy on feature requests, rules & guidelines

Song mode? Arranger mode? Not sure I’m quite getting it.

NiktuNiktu MelbournePosts: 6

Ok, new Deluge owner here. I’m a guitarist who needs a decent song mode, so I can play along to my songs live. Straight forward enough, yeah? Then, riddle me this...

Is there a way to create completely different A, B, C, etc song sections to create a complete song in Deluge? ie two chords playing a verse, a different set of chords for a bridge, another set for a chorus, different lengths, etc?

I find the current nomenclature and process a tad confusing, though I admit as I’m writing my problem here, the penny might already be starting to drop. Bare with me.

The currently titled “song mode” to me, resembles what a song section should look like. Then it would make sense to simply append the different sections in an “arranger” to create a complete song. That’s what my brain is accustomed to. But there is only one ‘song mode’ which kills that notion.

I’m starting to think that what I need or want is not possible exactly per se, but might be able to work around it somehow by creating the new chord progressions within the same “song mode” and then creating new clips with the same instruments but different chords, to compose the different sections? Perhaps it’s not a “workaround” and that’s simply how Deluge does its ‘song mode’? Do I have this right?

So as it stands, if I want, say, a ‘B Section’ I’d need to create a new groove, new bass line and new chord parts, all within the same ‘song mode’ alongside (or underneath) my nicely crafted ‘A Section’ with all its parts, and then use the arranger mode to drop the right clips in the right place to achieve a full song? Do I have this right?