Please familiarise yourself with the forum rules & guidelines

Which MIDI keyboard do you recommend for the Deluge?

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie in both music making and specifically the Deluge. This is my first post here.

My birthday is coming up and I'd like to get a non-crap gift :) So I thought about asking for a MIDI keyboard. In my searches I focused mostly on Arturia's offerings because most users seem to be happy with their products.

However, I can't figure out which is better for the Deluge: the MiniLab MKII or the KeyStep. I understand the main differences, but I just don't know which is better specifically with the Deluge. For example, is it a great limitation that the MiniLab MKII only has USB? I have no idea. Also, I'm running Linux on all my computers, so if I need to run an app to configure the keyboard, that is a big obstacle for me.

I would gladly consider any other keyboard, not just Arturia's. My main hopes for a keyboard are:
1. Relatively small
2. Relatively cheap (let's say at most 150$ US)
3. Doesn't require Windows or MAC
4. Interfaces well with the Deluge

Thanks for your time :)

Comments

p_watsp_wats Toronto
    edited October 13

I have a Keystep and it's great. That said, I've had it since before I got my Deluge, so I didn't exactly look for the perfect pairing.

As for the Minilab, the Deluge doesn't send power over USB midi, so if the Minilab is bus-powered I believe you'd have to use a powered hub in between them (though I don't have much experience with USB midi devices).

EDIT: Sorry, the deluge needs a USB host to work with a USB-only MIDI keyboard, so the Minilab won't work.

Post edited by p_wats on

@p_wats said:
    I have a Keystep and it's great. That said, I've had it since before I got my Deluge, so I didn't exactly look for the perfect pairing.